Uncategorized

BOOK REVIEW- The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry follows three characters that make one beautiful story. It begins with a book rep trying to sell out her spring releases to a depressed book seller, who happens to be A.J. Fikry. It then continues to poor and angry A.J. finding something in his bookstore that he will learn to love and treasure in the future of the story: A child. A.J. soon learns that in a bookstore you don’t only find good stories, you sometimes find a family.

I went into The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry knowing I will love the book, and I was not disappointed. The minute I opened the first page, I fell in love with Amelia, a sharp and witty book rep. I soon got to meet A.J. Fikry himself, and got to know him to the point where I have to admit, I disliked him. But quickly, his character grew on me as I dove into his past and found out more and more details about his life.

I don’t know what drew me into this book. Maybe it was the fact that it was a book about books. Maybe it was the beautiful cover. It probably was the good reviews, though. But as I dove farther and farther into the book I found I couldn’t put it down. I fell in love with every page I turned.

The book is written in the most simple of ways. It does not complicate things that should not be complicated and it does not fixate on unimportant subplots. It is simply a fun book to read. Of course it had its flaws, how sometimes it felt as if things were taking too long, and I have to admit that the timeline confused me very much at times. But in the end all those were unimportant because the book itself sucked me in and I almost didn’t notice its flaws until I stopped at stared at it for a good couple of minutes.

And the ending. That ending.

I give this book a proud 4.5/5 stars (which is a rating I rarely give books these days, damn you reading slump!)

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW- The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

  1. WoW, Reut, that was a great review, I loved it and it truly gave me the feel of the book and made me curious enough to want to read it!!!!!
    Keep up the amazing work!! All your recommendations summarized gave a good picture to choose according to nes interests!!!
    Thank you and waiting for more!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

