Recommendations

Reading Slumps!

Reading slumps- every person who can call themselves a reader has been through one. That feeling, when every book you open is just not the one.

I, myself, have been through billions of reading slumps. every now and then, even now, I get the feeling that the book I’m reading is just not the one I’m really looking for, and that I need to read a different book. But then I open a different book and it’s still not the one I am looking for. So what do I do?

I have my five go-to books that save me whenever I’m in a reading slump. Now, every person looks for something else while in a reading slump, but I think these five books could get anybody out of any reading slump.

IMG_9909

#1 – The Martian by Andy Weir

Not only is The Martian my favorite book ever, it got me out of my first reading slump ever. The book is very fast paced, which is what I think everybody needs while in a reading slump. But it’s not only fast paced. It has hilarious main characters, very interesting plot, and halfway through the book I guarantee you’ll find yourself turning page after page in anticipation of what will happen next.

#2 – Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Illuminae is a different story. It is fast paced like The Martian, with funny characters and great plot. But that’s not the deal about this book. This book, it’s written in files, adding pictures, interviews, case files, all through the book, which makes the book very easy and fun to read. I remember sitting, amazed by the way the book was written, unable to put it down. It’s a very big book, true, but it’s read so quickly and so nicely, you don’t even notice that you got to page 405 in half an hour.

#3 – Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova

I don’t know what the thing is about Labyrinth Lost. To be honest, I didn’t think the book was THAT mind blowing. But when you’re in a reading slump, all you’re looking for is an easy book to read. Something with a simple writing, something with fun characters and fun plot. And that is exactly what Labyrinth Lost gives you. The story is fast paced and funny, and you can put it down if you want to, but you find yourself in a place where you just don’t want to.

#4 – Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl is something special. As you can see it’s the only contemporery on my list. Not because I don’t think contemporeries aren’t good for reading slumps, but simply because I don’t read that many. But Fangirl sucked me into it. It was around the time I was diagnosed with anxiety and I could not read, no matter what you got me. But then Fangirl arrived and I found myself falling in love with reading all over again. It’s thelove stry, and the characters, and the friendship and I can’t even describe how happy this book could make you.

#5 – The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Where do I even begin with The Maze Runner? It was the book that got me into reading, first of all, so of course I believe it’s perfect for reading slumps. If a book gets someone into reading once, it will definitely get them back into reading as well. The book is filled with characters big and small, so many of them that sometimes you can’t wrap your head around who’s who, and the story is so fast paced that you just blink and suddenly you’re at the last paced without even noticing.

 

I guarantee, any of these books could get you out of the worst reading slump ever imagined.

One thought on “Reading Slumps!

Leave a Reply

