Opinion

TRAVELING TO MARS With Buzz Aldrin and Mark Watney (Or how these books can make reality)

Anybody who’s been reading my blog for long enough knows that The Martian by Andy Weir is my absolute favorite book of all times. But what you don’t know is why I love this book so much.

You probably assume it’s because of the funny jokes and great plot (well, you’re half right). The reason I am so in love with this book is that I grew up as a space Junky.

It all started with the book Man On The Moon. It’s a biography about all space missions until 1970. Ever since then I have been obsessed with moon missions. But my new obsession is the mission to Mars.

So what it the connection to books here?

IMG_9942

I believe that the travel to Mars will begin with fiction. Buzz Aldrin said in his book Mission To Mars that we can’t begin our travel to Mars until space becomes available for the rest of humanity- those of us who are not astronouts, who don’t work at NASA. And I think that the first way to make space available to all kinds of people is through books. Through fiction.

The Martian does that. It brings people to space without moving from their house. It brings ideas and makes people more passionate about space travel. It makes people more anxious to get there, to see it happening, and through that it puts more pressure -good pressure- on NASA and other space agencies to get us to Mars. I think The Martian will soon have a great effect on our travel to Mars. I think this book was the first push to make space more reachable and familiar to everybody, and to get us to Mars.

I think we can say that Mark Watney was the first person to land foot on Mars.

 

9 thoughts on “TRAVELING TO MARS With Buzz Aldrin and Mark Watney (Or how these books can make reality)

  1. Technically Aldrin’s quote has already happened. SpaceX is determined to get a human to Mars in the next five years. Although SpaceX is a large corporation, they are technically civilians (probably the astronaut they choose wont be). This in itself, I would say has begun to open the doors for others.

    NASA’s budget is being slashed all the time to put a little bit more into “protecting America’s interests”, but Elon Musk realized this world is already depleted of resources, and maybe doomed – so we need to look to the stars immediately.

    Great post. Buzz’s book sounds interesting, I am going to go look it up right now 🙂

    Like

  2. How great is The Martian?? I bought it in an airport and had finished it by the end of the four hour flight, I was turning the pages so quickly. It stands up to rereading so well too

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

