Recommendations

Author Recommendation: Andrew Smith

IMG_9952

Andrew Smith is one of my All-Time-Favorite authors. He’s an auto-buy author for me. I read three of his books so far, Winger, which was my favorite book of 2016, Stand Off, and 100 Sideways Miles, and I am currently eagerly waiting for Grasshopper Jungle to arrive in the mail.

So why do I think you should read Andrew Smith books?

He is such a funny author in my opinion. His books never fail to put a smile on my face (as you can see in the picture above…) His books are smart and sofisticated, and often talk about very important subjects (such as physical disability in 100 Sideways Miles and sexuality in Winger). He isn’t afraid to put his opinion in his books about any subject.

I’ll admit he lacks some creativity in writing women. His women are written very similarly in the books I’ve read so far, but each of them has, in the end, something special of her own.

Even though his books often talk about those big subjects, you can read them enjoyably without thinking too much and quickly, without noticing, finish the book.

♦Have you read anything by Andrew Smith?

Leave a Reply

