Uncategorized

Most Disappointing Books of the Year So Far

We all read disappointing books every now and then, but some books are just so disappointing you feel betrayed by them.

So here are my most disappointing reads of the year so far:

#1 Falling Kingdoms

IMG_0075

I usually try to take nice pictures even if the book was really bad, but as you can see in this picture I just literally gave up. I had such high expectations of this book, everybody is raving about it, but I just don’t get the hype. I found this book so boring and overrated.

#2 Ivory and Bone

IMG_0076

With this one I can’t really speak because I haven’t finished it yet, but I am really disappointed so far. I got bored like 100 pages in and couldn’t get through a chapter without falling asleep. My grandma got me this book because she read the synopsis and thought it sounded right up my alley, and it really did, but something in this book is just missing. 

#3 Heart of Darkness

IMG_0073

I’m not as disappointed in this book as I am surprised I didn’t like it. I read it for a course I’m currently taking and it sounded really good, and even though the teacher said most of us will be disappointed with this book, I went in with really high expectations. However, I found it very difficult and not fun to read.

#4 Scythe 

IMG_0072

“I. Am. Going. To. Finish. This. Book.” I tell myself as I’m looking at my list of disappointing reads. I had the highest expectations for this one. I got it the second it came out, and I was sure I won’t be able to stop reading it the second I started it. However, it progresses very slowly, and nothing really happens in the book. I am gonna finish it, though. I promise.

#5 The Winner’s Curse&Crime

IMG_0069

With these two I just can’t do this. Everyone keeps talking about how good this series is but I just don’t get it. It doesn’t go anywhere, and it’s very politically driven. I keep waiting for something to happen but it just doesn’t move! I am so frustrated with these two!

 

♦What’s the most disappointing book you read this year so far?

One thought on “Most Disappointing Books of the Year So Far

  1. I can’t even remember, as it was so bad I gave it to a book drive half way through. I skimmed ahead to see it was still nothing but boring drivel. No development. Was some horror novel that was anything but.

    Like

Leave a Reply

