Review

BOOK REVIEW- The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

18361717_1605304689497950_1934183293_n

THUG is the story about a Starr, a black girl who lives two lives. On one side, she lives in her poor black neighborhood, and on the other one she goes to a rich white school. Starr’s life changes completely when she witnesses her childhood’s best friend murdered by a cop. From there, Starr goes on a mission to clean her best friend’s name and bring him justice.

Wow. This book. I can’t even begin to describe how awed I am by it. It was so relevant to our times, such an important read.

I’ll begin by talking about Starr’s character. She was such a well written character, well rounded and amazingly relatable. Being inside her head was so interesting. It was amazing to see her switch between the two Starrs she was, and also incredibly painful and sad.

The rest of the characters were also well rounded and written well. But the most important was the story line. I was so fascinated, and so incredibly saddened by it. I like to think of myself as pretty much a well educated girl about the Black Lives Matter movement, but this book taught me so much I didn’t know and wouldn’t have had I not read this book.

This book is so important for white people like me to read. It taught me so much, about what I do that can hurt black people, and about what I need to do to help more.

I loved this book so much and I give it a 5\5 stars rating.

Such a great read.

Leave a Reply

