Life update

A Horse Walks into a Bar (or A Woman Walks into a Store by Reut Goldman)

So here’s the story: A Horse Walks into a Bar by David Grossman just won the Man Booker award. And I was working while it happened. 

As you remember, I just started working at the bookstore that week, and I wasn’t allowed to use the phone while at work. 

And then, this woman walks into the store and tells me, “I am looking for the book by David Grossman that won the Man Booker award.” 

I stare at her. I didn’t know about any award, but there was another book by David Grossman that was highly acclaimed at the time, called Hug. I figured, Hug must be the book that won the award, for I heard so many great things about it lately. 

I give the woman the book and she leaves and never comes back. 

I wonder how she’s doing when all her friends are talking about A Horse Walks into a Bar and she’s talking about the great pictures in Hug. 


 

Leave a Reply

